Fraser N. - March 2017

Describes it perfectly!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

We had an amazing family reunion at Casa Amaviva. Three adult couples and the matriarch whose birthday we were celebrating fit comfortably in this stunning home. David and Miriam and their daughter were delightful and we loved getting to know them as well as the local scene. We lagoon and deep sea fished with guides recommended by David, and had a great time on the sea kayaks. It was nice to be away from everything - but close enough to visit Tulum, Cabo and the Cenotes. Recommend getting a substantial car. It is a remarkable place and we feel very lucky to have been so spoiled. A really great time in a really great place. Could not recommend it more highly.

Alexander  (Spain) - February 2017
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Si buscas una casa con calidad delante del paraiso no buscas mas... La casa es bien equipado con 3 dormitorios y camas de calidad. Hay una habitación para ver la tele en pantalla grande que también puede transformarse en dormitorio. Las ubicación de la casa es especial ya que se encuentra en la reserva natural de Sian Kan. El personal en la casa un matrimonio es una clase para si solo... Bravo ! Desayuno/ comida / cena todo de máxima calidad y amor por el arte de guidar los huéspedes. Pocas veces me he sentido tan bien tratado como en Almaviva con Miriam y David. Sois un valor seguro para volver. Hasta pronto.

Phenomenal - December 2016
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Casa Almaviva is a slice of heaven. Our family of four loved everything about it -- from David and Miriam's cooking and hospitality to the gorgeous beach view and delightful water. Probably our favorite part was going to the roof/observatory every night to see every star, planet and constellation imaginable -- with no obstructive lights for miles around. And the adventure of getting there is part of the fun.

 

Mike Forno - May 2016
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The location, house and staff were all no less than perfect!   2 families, 10 people, andwe all agreed that the food prepared by David was some of the best we have ever eaten.  It's hard to even do justice with words....  needless to say, we will return to this beach paradise. 

 

Susan Dwyer (New York City) - April 2016
 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Six of my best girl friends and I spent 5 blissful days and nights at Casa Almaviva.  It was so lovely - David and Miriam took wonderful care of us and the home made meals were so delicious and a wonderful luxury. The beautiful beach was steps away from the house and the accommodations were great. I confirm everything good in all the reviews on this site. This is a very special place. The owner could not have been more responsive and helpful. Terrific find. 

 

Jim (Kansas City) - March 2016

Private Paradise
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Our family of four, including 2 teens, stayed at this wonderful home for a week.  Everything in the 5 star reviews and photos was accurate, and then some.  Photos simply don't do it justice, and words can't describe how wonderful David's food is.  The caretakers are a delightful couple.  They quietly make sure that your stay is wonderful, and provide the freshest, most authentic Yucatan meals 3 times per day; fresh fish straight from the ocean, fresh tortillas delivered daily,  fresh fruits, all for a total cost that you couldn't eat dinner for only a couple of times at a resort.  Spacious bedrooms, including a very private master suite on the second level and a huge outdoor sofa on the roof is perfect for cocktails after a day at the beach and stargazing after dinner.  The beach is truly your own.  it is cleaned of seaweed every morning and lounge chairs and towels are provided.  Over the course of 6 days we saw probably 3 people walk by.   Because there is a coral reef about a 1/2 mile out, the surf is very gentle on the beach, making the kayaks easy to navigate.   Although there is a very large brand new flat screen TV in the den with Satellite cable, our teenagers did not use it once.  There is satellite wifi available for simple tasks, like staying barely connected to the office, making voice over wifi calls, and keeping teens happy. Bluetooth Bose speakers, cards and a few games are also provided and were great for passing some time before or after dinner.  Although we had plans to venture out for some activities, we only did so once (taking in a movie and dinner at a very new, cool private outdoor theater concept in Tulum called Zine...highly recommended but book ahead on their Facebook page), because we didn't want to miss one day of relaxation or any of Davids meals!  The road to the house is in pretty good shape but would recommend an SUV for a few rough patches and in case there have been recent rains.

Finally, the very friendly and professional property owner is extremely responsive, as you are making your plans, as you are preparing for your trip, and in following up afterwards.

 

Fiona (Brooklyn) - January 2016

A Day in Paradise...
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I was invited by a friendcelebrating a 50th birthday to join the group at Casa Almaviva.  I literally had 48 hours to spend away from a busy work schedule - but- I love my friend so off I went..From the moment our 4x4 entered the nature sanctuary which leads to the house... I was happy... for some reason I had not considered how very secluded the location would be...the rain forest...the sense of history on the Gulf...who had landed there, lived there.

There was a sense of peace from the moment we arrived at the Casa..A fan of astro-tourism I went straight to the roof to check out the star gazing opp and I was not disappointed.. A peaceful warm wind, a setting sun, a rootop with a view of heaven. Wow!...all I needed was a margarita on the rocks ...with salt...quickly provided by my host..Casa Almaviva is all about being exactly where you want to be at a moment in time..Its got all the luxury perks one would expect...salon accessories (Moutlon Brown), A/c for those who want it, great shower power...but its the location and the people who really make it. Having a local couple act as care-takers/cooks/concierge gave a sense of authenticity to that wonderful evening..Really good quality food, tasty, simple..and plenty of it...delivered with an unobtrusive warmth..And then that stargazing...When my friend asked if I really had to fly back the next morning..I considered jacking it all in for just one more night and day at Casa Almaviva.

 

SS (California) - January 2016

luxury & seclusion
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Casa Almaviva house is truly amazing—a perfect retreat to get away and take a break from the daily grind. If you can image the most perfect, idyllic tropical beach from a movie, this is what it was like—and we had it all to ourselves, not seeing anyone else on the beach for days. The house is beautiful, highly recommend making use of the 3rd floor outdoor lounge for stargazing. The staff made our stay very comfortable and prepared excellent meals tailored to our requests. The drive in through the jungle road was worth it for the privacy and luxury the house provides. It was an unforgettable trip!

MaLaTravels (Ashland, Oregon, USA)  - Januar 2016

Simple, Elegant Living in the Heart of the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Casa Alma Viva is pure elegance. It has a modern architectural flourish yet retains all the best, sensible elements of more traditional Mexican structures. The central living and dining area sits under a grand palapa, providing perfect shelter yet also granting intimacy with the environment outside. Large, maybe 8-foot mahogany (?) doors span the lenth of the common area at the front and back, allowing the home to be closed against the elements when necessary, or left open for a spectacular view of the beach to the back and the thick jungle of trees to the front. The space was designed for both communal gathering as well as privacy, with a large dining room table, an easy and comfortable living room area, four separate bedrooms, and several private little nooks to camp out in. And plenty of outdoor living space as well. The rooftop lounge is a breathtaking theater for stargazing. (And there's even a telescope available.) 

The bed in my room was very comfortable. The place is quite clean and is tended to daily by David and Miriam, the caretakers. Three banquets a day magically appear on the dining room table. Since this is coastal Mexico, grilled lobster (caught that day,) paella with prawns and calamari, or a ceviche featuring freshly caught grouper were my favorites, though David has the magic touch with the grill so anything he cooked with it - vegetables, chicken, steak - were all incredible.  

Before visiting, I had done plenty of reading online, but nothing prepared me for the privilege of being in the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. The dazzling natural beauty, the thousands of species of flora and fauna, the spectacular wildlife, the ocean, the lagoons, the mangroves... and as of this writing, very few people. 

During our time there we managed to go out on a local fishing boat (we caught barracuda and David put it in a ceviche that day...); take a boat from Punta Allen to see dolphins, sea turtles, and other marine life as well as an island covered in frigates, pelicans, and other large tropical water birds; snorkel among colorful schools of tropical fish; visit the local Mayan ruins in Tulum; and spend an evening salsa dancing at one of the beachfront hotels in Tulum. Something we'll have to do next time is visit the cenotes - caves with freshwater pools connected by underground rivers.

 Casa Alma Viva has the spirit of ecotourism blowing through it.